Photo: Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Basketball Australia has named 24 players to their preliminary roster for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, the federation announced.

The 24 players include nine current NBA players, one NBA G League player, two NBA free agents, nine NBL (National Basketball League) players and three players competing in Europe.

The full preliminary squad:

Squad Number Athlete’s Name Current Club
1 Deng ADEL Hawks (NBL)
2 Aron BAYNES Toronto Raptors (NBA)
3 Ryan BROEKHOFF NBA Free Agent
4 Xavier COOKS Sydney Kings (NBL)
5 Mitch CREEK South East Melbourne Phoenix (NBL)
6 Matthew DELLAVEDOVA Cleveland Cavaliers (NBA)
7 Dante EXUM Houston Rockets (NBA)
8 Josh GIDDEY Adelaide 36ers (NBL)
9 Chris GOULDING Melbourne United (NBL)
10 Josh GREEN Dallas Mavericks (NBA)
11 Isaac HUMPHRIES Adelaide 36ers (NBL)
12 Joe INGLES Utah Jazz (NBA)
13 Nick KAY Real Betis (Spain)
14 Jock LANDALE Melbourne United (NBL)
15 Mitch McCARRON Melbourne United (NBL)
16 Will McDOWELL-WHITE Rio Grande Valley Vipers (NBA G League)
17 Will MAGNAY New Orleans Pelicans (NBA)
18 Thon MAKER NBA Free Agent
19 Patty MILLS San Antonio Spurs (NBA)
20 Brock MOTUM Galatasaray (Turkey)
21 Mitch NORTON Perth Wildcats (NBL)
22 Duop REATH Crvena Zvezda (Serbia)
23 Ben SIMMONS Philadelphia 76ers (NBA)
24 Matisse THYBULLE Philadelphia 76ers (NBA)

Seven of the 24 players represented Australia at the 2016 Rio Olympics including Joe Ingles, Patty Mills, Aron Baynes, Ryan Broekhoff, Matthew Dellavedova, Chris Goulding and Brock Motum.

Five players are receiving their first call to the senior men’s national team including Josh Green, William McDowell-White, Will Magnay, Duop Reath and Matisse Thybulle.

The final 12-man Olympic roster will be announced by the Australia Olympic Committee later this year.

Ranked No. 3 in the FIBA World Rankings, Australia will look to win their first ever Olympic medal and will do so under head coach Brian Goorjian, who will be coaching in his third Olympics.

Australia was drawn into Group B with Nigeria and two unknown spots that will come from the two winners of the Olympic Qualifying Tournaments in Split, Croatia and Belgrade, Serbia.

Source link